Thursday, November 18, 2010

It's decision time, and we get GT Academy!

Decision Time

It wasn't easy. I had two great prospects for next year before me. One was the STS CRX I drove this last year, the other was a F125 shift kart. Both had their selling points, and both sounded like a ton of fun. But, alas, I could only choose one.

So many factors went into my decision. Costs, and my chances to do well were, of course, high on the list. One would give me experience in a class/vehicle I have been wanting to try. The other would allow me to be in the same class/car two years in a row for the first time in 5 years. As I weighed the two, one thing kept coming to mind: What if? Sure, you can play the what if game either way. However, I knew that if I ran the kart, I would always wonder if I could have matched, or bettered, this last year's results. Thus, CRX it is! So.... now what?

Now it is time to start planning. And start tweaking. There is weight that can still come out of the car. And the car needs a thorough going over. Also need to figure out what events to attend. While my co-driver Jon Simmons will be with me for all the big local events, I have a feeling I will be on my own for some of the events out of town. I will be going over all of this, as parts are acquired, and schedules are release

GT Academy

Found out this week that the US is getting GT Academy. This is an event, using the PS3 game Gran Turismo, where one person can "play" their way into a real racing car. This has been going on for a few years in Europe, but US participants have never been allowed in. Well, we (US participants) were allowed to compete in the last one. However, the top driver, instead of getting to actually race, got tickets to the Indy 500. I gave it a shot for awhile, but quit early on. Still ended up 27th, which would have been good enough for the 2nd round of the new event, as they are taking the top 32. In said 2nd round, the 32 drivers square off, head to head, with the 16 winners moving on to the "Boot camp", where you drive actual cars and go through other various drills. Winner? Yup, gets to join a racing time for an endurance race in April. In Europe. I may not win. I may not even get into the top 32. I am just stoked to have the chance! Wish me luck!

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Ode to 2nd gear.

The change was succinct, powerful. I'm on a different plane now. I won't be here long, but I'll be back again. It'll come around again. The change sent my soul sideways. I can feel the lack of grip. It'll take some moderation to get things in line again. Make things fine again. Another change is imminent. Am I ready? Everything's in motion, pause.. snik. And I'm gone again. Good bye my friend.

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

What is this autocross thing you do, anyway?

No matter how much it baffles my mind, I am quite sure there are a few of my friends/followers that have never heard of, let alone been to, an auto-x (autocross).  And even if you have heard of it, you might not know exactly what it is, or what goes on.  Most know it involves cars, but that is about it.  And simply telling someone what I do on the weekends can be quite... interesting. "It's like a roadcourse. But with cones. Setup in a parking lot. And you don't race the other cars physically, it's all time based." To which I get a lot of blank stares, and, "Ahhh, ok."

So, I am now going to attempt to as'plain it better. My above statement remains the same. It is a time based competition, in which a vehicle will navigate a series of cones making a temporary course.  Those cones dictate where you go, and if you hit one out of its box, you get a 2 second penalty.  Each course has a start and a finish, and will involve a series of maneuvers that test a driver's skill, as well as the car's performance. While power is a plus, this type of event rewards handling and lightness. Generally. A typical course will take about 60 seconds to navigate, and will generally not allow a car to reach speeds above 60ish mph. At least in the highest stock classed car.   At any given event, you will get, roughly, 3-6 runs to get your best time.  If the event is a two day affair, your best time from each day will be added together, giving you your overall time.

There are quite a few classes that compete. From stock to a purpose built, anything goes A-Mod car. Generally, there is a class for almost anything someone can show up in. As long as it meets tech, which is primarily worried about safety issues. To give you an idea, here is a few different cars, and their respective classes:


H Stock



C Street Prepared, or CSP



X Prepared



A Mod




Now, obviously, these are not all the classes. But it shows the basic break down. All the classes generally start with a letter that designates which group the car itself should run with, then the further narrows it down by whether it is stock, or "street" prepared, and so on. There is also a street tire class, shifter kart class, kart class for kids.... and the list goes on. Basically, show up in something, and the SCCA is bound to have a class for it to run in. Even your grandmother's Grand Marquis.

As for the courses, they will always be new.  You, typically, will never run the same course twice.  And that is what makes it so special.  When you get to the site, you have never seen the course before.  You have never driven it before.  Your only recon is walking the course.  While doing so, you are picking out what you think will be the fastest way through the course, where you think your braking points will be, how a certain maneuver is going to effect the car, and so on.  Then you get your 3-6 chances to nail down your fastest lap.  Quite the challenge.  And, quite fun. 

So, how about a video to show you what it looks from inside the car?  This video is of my friend Matt McCabe, in the CSP Miata you see in the picture above, on this years Nationals East course.  Matt finished 2nd in class.




So, there you have it.  I hope that helps you understand what it is I, and other car crazed individuals do with our weekends.  However, I guarantee that having it explained won't help you fully grasp why we love it.  For that, you will have to go to an event.  Go and watch.  Go and ride.  Or, best yet, go and try it.  Only then, will you fully grasp why we keep coming back for more.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

That didn't go as planned.

Time for another update.  Last time, I mentioned how I was heading to KC to take my 2nd test drive in my friends Shawn Hill's kart.  Well, I did.  And, as the title suggests, it didn't go as planned.  Basically, I sucked it up on all my runs.  I can now say, with certainty, that a kart is the must frustrating thing I have ever tried to drive.  It isn't the speed, the grip, or the shifting.  It is all of it.  In little doses.

If a car is an airplane, then a kart is a spaceship.  Completely foreign, even though it is built to do the same thing: fly.  The speed is instant, and intense.  The grip is other worldly.  And, then, you add in shifting.  Lots of it.  I think that was the part that really messed me up the most.  Karts use a sequential gear box, like that of a motorcycle.  There is no pattern.  Pull toward you to shift up, and away from you to shift down.  Easy, right?  Well, now do that once or, at times, twice a second while navigating a sea of cones, looking ahead to see where you are gonig, while trying to gauge the limit of the grip available.  Now try to remember what gear you are in.   Not that the specific gear is entirely important.  But I found myself not shifting down enough gears in some corners, and trying to shift down one too many in others.  The former will leave you bogging out of the corner.  The later will spin you.  Quickly, as I found out.

However, as frustrating as it is, it is also a blast.  Glorious power slides, small crests causing all four wheels to come off the ground, and acceleration just short of a jet fighter on take off, will leave you with a $#!% eating grin on your face.  And I know as I acclimate myself, it will become less frustrating.  But there is the rub.  How long will it take to acclimate myself?  I get one year.  Actually, I get about 6 months.  It has taken Shawn 2 years to get to where he is at, and he says he still has a ways to go.  I love the challenge aspect of it.  That has major appeal to me.  However, I have a ride in a vehicle that I know and have done well in, with just one year of seat time, available to me as well.  I can't help but imagine what another year of seat time can net me.

So the plan is to run the kart once more this year.  I don't plan to figure it out.  I certainly don't plan to set FTD (fastest time of day).  What I want however, is to see if I show signs of progress.  Did I get better?  And, if so, by how much?  Was it a baby step, or was it a leap?  Once I can see if I am improving, and by how much, then I think I can finally make my decision.  And, honestly, either way I can't lose.  Both options are great opportunities, with people I enjoy.  I can say without hesitation, that it is a blessing to be in this predicament.  So thank you, to everyone involved for the opportunity, for your graciousness!        

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

The conundrum.

Sitting here, writing this, I am patiently looking forward to driving my buddy Shawn Hill's F125 shifter kart this weekend.  I have driven it once before.  Badly.  But it was a blast.  The sheer speed at which things happen in a short wheel base, high power to weight machine like that is awesome.  Then throw in, while auto-xing, that your head isn't much higher then the top of the cones themselves, and the sense of speed gets a boost again.  It is all quite an assault on the senses.  Quite the challenge.  And, quite fun.

Running the Kart this weekend was all part of the plan developed at the beginning of this year.  I was going to co-drive the kart with Shawn this next year, using the few events after Nationals to begin getting acclimated to it.  It would be perfect.  It would give him a co-driver to help with expenses, and driving the kart would help me round out my "training".  What is my "training"?  I hatched this plan awhile back.  I decided what I needed, as a driver, was to experience completely different cars.  Different drive-train layouts, power levels, and so on.  Thus far, I have ran a CS MX-5 (RWD), STU Subaru STI (AWD), and, this year, STS CRX Si (FWD).  Power ranged from close to mid 300's, to right around 100.  Race tires, and street tires.  Stock suspension, to triple adjustable coilovers.  The final piece to my plan was a kart.  It would be the fastest of them all, require the most focus, and be super fun as well.  Everything else would be slow, by comparison.  Which is exactly the effect I wanted. 

So, what is the is the conundrum then?  I had hoped, and thought, that I would do well at Nationals this year.  I wanted to finish high in the standings.  And I did.  Higher then I thought I might, really.  However, finishing 2nd, I feel like I owe it to myself to go back and try to get first. And I feel like, with another year of seat time, I could really get the car down.  But the seat in the kart is only open for this next year.  After that, it will be filled by Shawn's nephew.  So it is now, or never.  Thus, the conundrum.  Do I finish my training, or return for another round in STS?

Thankfully, I have some time to decide.  And this weekend will help in that decision making.  Thus, I patiently, but eagerly, wait to run Shawn's kart, this Sunday. 

Thursday, September 16, 2010

When in doubt, flat out. Or something like that.

In my previous blog, I mentioned my dismal results at the 2009 Nationals.  I wanted to expand upon the lesson I learned from that event.  As previously stated, I had buggered my first two runs with cones, and haphazard driving.  Thus, I concluded I should back off a bit, and get a clean run in.  While I succeeded in making a clean run, the time was terrible.  I had gone from a possible top 2 time, to 15th.  Obviously, not the kind of time I was looking for.

You hear the sayings all the time.  And, I presume, most people are like me and are all gung ho about them.  Terms like, "When in doubt, flat out".  Or, "Don't give up without a fight".  Or, "If I am going down, I am going down swinging".  All great sayings to rally behind. No one ever rallies behind, "When you're in a bad spot, play it safe"!  And I think there is a reason for that.  That is not how heroes are made.  Folk lore is not born of playing it safe.  That is not how you get the fair maiden or, in this case, trophy or jacket.  But which do we actually practice?  When it is crunch time, which side of the line do we fall upon?  I know which side I fell upon in 2009.  I tried playing it safe.  And I got burned.

Fast forward to this year.  Running "Bubba" (1988 Honda CRX Si in STS) at the Middiv Championships.  I have a comfortable lead going into day two, and am feeling good about things.  I head out on my first run.  Three cones.  Stupid cones, at that.  But the time was there.  Second run, not quite as fast.  Made a few mistakes, and hit a cone as well.  Starting to sound familiar?  I knew I could probably back off, and still win.  But it would be close.  Then, I remembered last year.  I remembered what happened when I tried to back it down.  So I switched philosophies, and went all out.  No guts, no glory!  Someone asked if I was going to back off a bit to get a clean run.  I believe my response was something like, "Bleep that, I'm going for it".  To be fair, I had to back off toward the end, but only because the tires were getting hot, and the car was pushing.  But I still gave it everything I could.  Time was a bit slower then I wanted (due to the overheated tires), but it was clean.  And, it was fastest in class, sealing my win.

Now, I am not saying it will always end like that.  There will be times when you go out and put it all on the line, and fail.  It is going to happen.  But much like the saying, "It is better to have loved, and lost, than to never have loved at all", I believe it is, "better to have gone all out, and failed, than to have wussed out, and come in 15th".

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Jumping right in, and having fun.

Great thing about blogs; you can add to them whenever.  So, instead of doing an in depth look at the history of my involvement in motorsport, I thought I would just start off with the most recent event:  2010 SCCA Solo Nationals.

The long and the short of it is, I got 2nd.  While some would see that as "the first loser", I was, and still am, quite ecstatic about the result.  For multiple reasons.  The first of which is that it was my best result to date.  The rarefied air of the top 3 felt great to finally break into.  The last two Nationals I attended, I had set a goal of top 5.  I missed the mark two years ago by a cone.  The last cone on the course, as a matter of fact.  That one cone cost me 5th place against some very, very good drivers.  Last year was....  well, terrible.  I had heard that everyone has one (or more) of THOSE Nationals.  You know, the one you just have to throw away.  Last year's was mine.  I coned away a 2nd fastest raw time on my first run, coned and missed a braking point on what was becoming a great 2nd run, and wussed out on the third.  I decided to back off, to get a clean run, and it cost me a much slower run than I was expecting.  Never again.  Lesson learned.   

Another reason I was happy with 2nd, was that I climbed up to it from 4th.  After day one I was a little over a second behind first, a little over two tenths out of 2nd, and a hundredth or so out of 3rd.  I figured 1st would be quite a challenge to overtake, but 2nd and 3rd were within striking distance.  However between two tenths and three tenths back were 5th though 9th, making me a target that was catch able if I didn't perform.  My goal, however, coming into this Nationals was top three, and I was determined to make my goal this time.
 
I am going to break off on tangent for a second, and discuss the power of words. Going into day two I was starting to feel the pressure.  I had walked the course before leaving the site on day one, and didn't like it.  At all.  And that worried me.  Generally, if you don't like a course, you aren't going to do that well on it.  At least not as well as you could.  I put it out of my mind the best I could all that night.  But it was starting in on me as soon as I woke up the next morning.  I tried "fooling" myself into being confident.  You know the tactic.  Telling yourself you are the man, and all that.  Pumping yourself up, basically.  Yeah, well, that wasn't really working.  Although I let on an air that it was.  But what really calmed me down and got me in the right frame of mind, were two little words.  Yup, just two little words, spoken by a good friend and mentor, Andy Hohl. 

A group of us were standing around the start line, sun rising over Lincoln, waiting for there to be enough light to actually see the course while we walked it.  My best friend, and Co-driver, Jon Simmons headed out with another local member to give them insight on the course, leaving just me, Andy, and Ann Hollis there at the starting line.  The three of us talked a bit more, then I decided to head out and take another look at the course myself.  As I was leaving, Andy turned to me and simply said, "Have fun".  What really impacted me wasn't the words themselves, but the delivery, and my interpreted meaning behind it.  He wasn't just talking about having fun while walking the course.  No.  For me, it was a reminder.  Sometimes we competitive types get our heads so wrapped around results, that it gets in our way.  We start chasing.  We forget why we are there in the first place.  Andy simply reminded me.  I was there to have fun.

Newly energized, and feeling like a thousand weights were lifted off me, I walked the course again.  While I still didn't love it, I came to terms with it, and was ready to run.  Funny enough, after my first run, I found I actually did really enjoy the course.  And while having fun, and enjoying the course, I happened to set fastest clean time for the class, as well as all other street tire classes!  Not too shabby!  That ended up putting me in  2nd, and only 3 tenths out of first.  I was elated.  I had achieved my goal.  And while achieving my goal, I learned a lesson we can all share.  Have fun, it's a great stress reliever.   

At this point, I would like to take a second to thank a few people.  Without these people, my result this year would not have been possible.  Andy and Teresa Clark, for letting me get behind the wheel of "Bubba".  My best friend and co-driver, Jon Simmons, for doing such a great job at fine tuning the car, and adding even more enjoyment to this fun sport by simply being my co-driver.  Andy Hohl, for those two words.  This is the second Nationals in a row that you have given me something I can keep.  And while the first one has actual monetary value, this one is truly far more valuable.  My wife, for putting up with all this nonsense, love ya!  And, last but certainly not least, God, for the talent I have been given.